FoodTim Hortons

What Is Gluten Free at Tim Hortons?

Tim Hortons

Tim Hortons, also called Tim’s, is one of the most popular coffee houses and restaurants in the US, Canada, and other countries. Known for its outstanding coffee and doughnuts, it has more than 5,000 restaurants globally.

Tim Hortons has quite a few specialties on its menu, which you can enjoy at their restaurant, pick up, or get delivered.

If you are planning to enjoy their coffee and doughnuts but have a food allergy, then there’s one thing you should check before placing your order.

What is gluten-free at Tim Hortons?


People who have food allergies should avoid allergens such as wheat and gluten in their meals. For the safe health of its customers, Tim Hortons mentions the ingredients in its meals so that they can make a well-informed choice on what to order at the restaurant.

Given its customer-centric focus, Tim Hortons also has many gluten-free options on its menu, such as:

  1. Hot & Cold Beverages
  2. Hash Browns
  3. Omelets
  4. Soups

Apart from these items on its menu, you can also ask the restaurant for other gluten-free options based on your preferences.

Some people have food allergies, so they cannot enjoy foods with allergens, so they need to check what is gluten-free at Tim Hortons before placing their order.

In this article, we shared some of the food & beverages which are gluten-free at Tim Hortons.

Gluten-Free Meals

Gluten-Free Meals

Many people with food allergy problems avoid eating foods containing gluten, as it can aggravate their health-related problems. Due to this, they often ask restaurants for a menu that lists gluten-free items.

Most of the restaurants in the USA and Canada, including Tim Hortons, offer gluten-free meals to accommodate the dietary preferences of such customers. They also ensure that they list all the ingredients used in preparing their meals so that customers can check if they are allergic to a particular ingredient.

However, since restaurants and bakeries have multiple cooking places, the chances of soy or gluten cross-contamination are high.

As a result, they could lead to health problems in people with high gluten intolerance. That’s why restaurants like Tim Hortons recommend people having allergy problems avoid ordering from their restaurants.

A gluten-free diet avoids food ingredients containing gluten, a protein in grains like wheat, barley, rye, etc.

Tim Hortons Gluten Free Menu

Gluten Free Menu

Keeping in mind the dietary preferences of its customers, Tim Hortons offers quite a few gluten-free recipes on its menu.

Some of the gluten-free recipes that you can order at its restaurants are dark roast coffee, honey cookies, oatmeal with fresh fruit, soups, chili, and a wide range of hot & cold teas, mochas, and cappuccinos which can be prepared in soy or almond milk based on your preferences.

If you are looking for gluten-free snacks, try their yogurt parfaits, crispy treats made of rice, and fruit cups.

Some of the popular gluten-free recipes at Tim Horton’s are:

  • Soups
    • Hearty Potato Bacon Soup
    • Chili Soup
  • Sides
    • Garden Salad w/dressing
  • Breakfast Options
    • Hash Brown
  • Drinks, Coffee & Tea Options
    • Apple Juice
    • Creamy Chocolate Chill
    • Frozen Lemonade
    • Mixed Berry Real Fruit Chill
    • Mixed Berry Smoothie with Greek Yogurt
    • Orange Juice
    • Raspberry Frozen Lemonade
    • Strawberry Banana Smoothie with Greek Yogurt
    • Tropical Fruit Smoothie with Greek Yogurt
    • Dark Roast Coffee
    • Caramel Latte
    • Mocha Iced Coffee
    • Hot Chocolate
    • Espresso
    • Tea Latte
    • Vanilla Iced Latte


If you are looking for delicious gluten-free meal options, Tim Hortons has plenty of options. From breakfast specials to your favorite beverages, Tim Hortons has put together a gluten-free menu just for you to enjoy your visit to their restaurants.

You can also check with the restaurant manager for more gluten-free options from the ones listed above and understand if there are any chances of cross-contamination in case you are highly allergic to gluten-based foods.

It would be best if you avoided the same, no matter how minute the gluten levels may be.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who Should Avoid Gluten-Based Foods?

People with celiac disease and high gluten sensitivity should avoid gluten-based foods, along with people who are allergic to wheat, rye, and barley.

Can There Be Gluten Cross-Contamination at Tim Hortons?

Since Tim Hortons also has a bakery where they bake wheat-based products, cross-contamination is possible with other meal preparations.

Therefore, Tim Hortons recommends checking with its restaurant team before placing your orders in case you are gluten intolerant.

Which Gluten-Based Ingredients Should You Avoid?

Wheat, Rye, Barley, and Triticale are a cross between wheat and rye. You may also need to avoid Oats as they may be cross-contaminated during production with wheat, barley, or rye.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *